Good Practice

Posted: March 30, 2010 in Uncategorized

Sitting Straight is a good practice and the symbol of independence. This is something which every one knows that sitting straight is virtuous and effective for our learning, for our growth as a wise human being and many of the script in India as well as abroad has validated the same. Infact this practice is been there in India from the times of our great sages and seers. Yoga also say to practice the same with grace, so that the spine which is the nervous traffic control system remains intact and in the shape. Medical Science also stays with the same opinion. All these are facts and respecting them, I to0 experienced the same last sunday.

Daily in the Music class, My tutor would ask us to  sit straight and attend the class. We try but the devil back in our minds never allow us to overcome the C-shaped siting which we practiced for the past 20 odd years. It was last saturday something as usual stuck my mind, while I was practicing a raaga in the class. I basically always have a background thread running, thinking of something else. Mabbe a political issue or a social agenda at any point in time. I dont know I cannot control that thought process but I also understand what I am doing at the foreground.

 May be a personality trait.

These thoughts some times do haunt me when I really cannot concentrate on some important topic which I am unaware of. Why does this happend?

And I got the answer…..

because I dont have control over my control system…..i.e. My Spine. It works as a total separate module and distract me from acting on with total concentration.

What I mean is .. total concentration comes when we control our spines by our sitting as well as standing posture. I never gave it so importance till last sunday. It was like a Eureka Moment for me . I had found the solution for my struggle of past 15 Years. But since it is never been a habit for my body, I would have to rigourously practice it for month to get it embedded into my system. To make it a intergral part!!!

 The funda is when we sit straight, we are totally conscious about the posture of our spine.. Sitting straight will help us concentrate on working for as specefic thing with out deviation of focus since we will keep our spine under our control.  when we sit in the typical C shape or in a relaxed state. we never have a bothered approach to keep it straight. Our mind has an independent approach altogether and works as it wants and not for the individual self.

This practice takes away our freedom of thoughts and freedom of being self dependent. we will never find the depth of thoughts untill we sit erect and try to be.

Remember, Whenever you want to do a mind mapping that is move thoughts to thoughts with out any shackles, you can do otherwise since it will always increase your creativity.

So I have started a movement against myself: from today:

1. I am will not take any support from the chair i Sit.

2. I will sit on a chair with out back support to practice this at home.

I would say if you want achieve success with pride, sit straight and get a winning ride. Try and let me know your thoughts on this… Rejiomusic will always be on for you.

Comments
  1. Yogesh says:

    cool one…i will try 🙂

  2. Yats says:

    Good 1 … sitting straight !! huhh ….
    Its a hard job but …. I will practice it 2 …. 🙂

  3. Prachee Jadhav says:

    Your article is very nice. i will try to follow ur suggestion regarding sitting style

  4. Sanoj Rajan says:

    Ok !! Maybe that is the reason why UDIT provided us with stools (A type of chair without back and arm rests [:D], obviously not the other one [:P] ) in the practical labs. So, in other words UDIT too wanted us to achieve success with pride. It’s quite sad that i read your blog now and you blogged all this now [:D]. Anyways, it is never too late. It is an excellent realization Reji. I’ll definitely try this from now itself. Even I’m like a Multi-Processing Operating System with a lot of processes going on and utilizing my memory and concentration. Unfortunately, I dont have a Task Manager to kill the unwanted processes. So Reji, I’m in. I’ll definitely give your realization a serious try !! Thanks [:P] !!

  5. Sudarshan Govindarajan says:

    I am joining you in the experiment !!

Leave a comment